2024 ISA World Para Surfing Championship

November 3 - 9, 2024

The 2024 ISA World Para Surfing Championship (WPSC) gathers the world's best Para Surfing athletes in Huntington Beach, California for the second year in a row. Over 180 athletes will be representing 27 national teams, and they'll be gathering to compete for the coveted Team Gold medals in various assist and non-assist surf divisions. 

Huntington Beach has played a historic role for the sport of surfing, having hosted many major surfing events. The 2024 ISA World Para Surfing Championship will be the ninth major ISA event held in Surf City USA® after the city hosted four editions of the ISA World Surfing Games in 1984, 1996, 2006, and 2022, its first edition of the World Para Surfing Championship in 2023, as well as the ISA World Juniors in 2005, 2018, and 2019.

The event will take place from November 3 - 9, 2024 on the south side of the Huntington Beach Pier.

Schedule of Events

Back to Top of List

The full events schedule will be available soon!

Para Surfing Classification

Back to Top of List

The goal of classification in Para Surfing is to accurately allocate the athlete into their best surf class to ensure a high level of competition and a more leveled playing field, minimizing the impact of impairment on the sport performance. 

Athletes are grouped into one of nine classifications depending on their particular physical conditions. Each classification will crown men's and women's World Champions. 

  • Stand 1
  • Stand 2
  • Stand 3
  • Kneel
  • Sit
  • Prone 1
  • Prone 2
  • Vision Impairment 1
  • Vision Impairment 2

Full details for each classification can be found HERE.

How to Watch

Back to Top of List

See all the action live from the sands of Huntington City Beach or check it out online at 

Volunteer information for the 2024 ISA World Para Surfing Championship will be available soon.

Where to Stay

Back to Top of List

The International Surfing Organization (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para-Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012, and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 109 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).